CityRow NYC! Fun, Intense with that WOW Factor!

26 Jul
Helaine Knapp

CityRow CEO & Founder, Helaine Knapp

row·ing noun \ˈrō-iŋ\ : the sport of racing in long, narrow boats that are moved by using oars.

Not actually in a narrow boat, not even near the water…..then what are you saying; perhaps as you read the definition!

I’m trying to let you know that I was in the closest adaptation of rowing; in an exercise class at CityRow; right near Union Square in NYC!

Brilliant idea by the CEO and Founder, Helaine Knapp!  A young, enthusiastic and beautiful woman who decided to take a chance on her dream of her way of being fit and went for it!  Approaching her 1 yr. anniversary, it has had the entire city buzzing with excitement – no one else is doing anything like this in the city!

” I’ve taken tons of classes and became really passionate about the group fitness format, but it was probably my background in working at tech start-ups that inspired me to pursue this.   This time it’s my vision, and it’s been amazing to see it come to life.”

For some reason, I was thinking about an oar, but the type of movement of moving water on the side of the boat, first the right and then turn to the left!  Simple, right?  I was so wrong!  WRONG, I say!

An intense workout, where you are pulling utilizing your knees and those muscles you kind of forgotten about on this sexy looking machine called a WaterRower!

Well even though I was not on a lake or river, the rowing machines did have water – which was definitely felt when the endurance was increased.

NeilTotton,CityRow

CityRow – NYC Instructor, Neil Totton

The instructor for our class, was Neil Totton who was so patient and kind; and his that don’t wait now…keep going attitude was so on point!

My heart rate was up in about 5 minutes and I was so amazed that how the water you’re pulling played such an intricate path of feeling like you were actually rowing, but it is stationary!

The class was near shy of an hour-long, which also involved stretching and a little strength training!

When the class was over, I was exhausted from all the activity!  I keep asking jokingly, “Did we reach land yet?”… for I knew all the rowing I did – we had to have reached our destination, we were already in Manhattan, so we had to be in New Jersey, Treasure Island…any place!

I had posted a few pictures on Instagram when taking the class, where I’d gotten so many e-mails, asking was that me!  I’d often replied, yes that’s me with the “after” the workout hairdo and the exhausted look, but I was still smiling!  It really was a whole lot of fun!

Afterwards we all had a little bite to eat with Helaine next door at HU Kitchen!  It was just wonderful talking and spending time with her.  I wish her the absolute best; for she is soaring in the right direction.  I would not even be surprised at all, if there’s major cities in her future!  CEO & Founder Helaine Knapp and Letia Mitchell

Would I go again, I sure would!  The classes are simple and priced reasonably!

The staff is absolutely awesome.  I am planning soon on bringing a friend with me and then go to Union Square’s Farmers Market after.

So if you are tired of your current exercise routine and you are near or perhaps visiting NYC; CityRow NYC is the place to go!

I would like to give a big thank you to Mind|Body|Spirit/Network for their invitation to attend this great class!

Letia Mitchell LifeStyle & DesignLetia 🙂

CityRow is located at 80 5th Avenue, Suite 1501 New York, NY 10011 (212) 242-4790 http://www.cityrow.com  YouTube video by Glam.com

For more photos of the exciting CityRow NYC lifestyle via Instragram, click CityRow.

 

 

2 Responses to “CityRow NYC! Fun, Intense with that WOW Factor!”

  1. Simon Collins January 5, 2017 at 3:45 AM #

    Is this still going? I’ve always thought that a rowing class would get traction and be more beneficial over a spin class. I can imagine it is tough to get people rowing in time, or with good form and bad technique can be a lot more distracting than it is on a bike!

    Do you try to teach them technique in an early class?

    • Letia Mitchell LifeStyle & Design® January 5, 2017 at 5:12 AM #

      Yes, City Row classes are still being held in the NYC area. Please go to their website for additional information http://www.cityrow.com and scheduling. I’m not a instructor, there are instructors to show the techniques in a beginners class. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

