My Day at ABC’s The Chew and Gordon Elliott!!!!!

3 Apr

As you know, I have attended a lot of  television shows trying to bring everyone an inside take on what it’s like; one in particular is The Chew!   Loving food, I wanted to know how another cooking show would fare the way to daytime TV.  So I asked a couple of my dearest friends to attend a live broadcast of the show with me on a sunny and brisk day – where we had to be at the studio at 7 am!  Everyone was on time and here we were in the waiting area, waiting to be seated!   Of course, I was engaging with a few other audience members; getting their take on why they were at the show!

As you know, every show has a comedian to help welcome the audience members and show how entertainment is on the arise by including them on the jokes; giving them queues when to make their experience a success while attending the show.

My friends and I were part of the comedy, referred to as Destiny’s child while the spotlight was honed on us when being shown to our seats, the audience was very amused at our expense.  🙂

While waiting to seat, over the PA I hear this voice in a British accent, saying Welcome everyone.    Saying to myself, his voice sounds so familiar!   Listening again, I noticed a tall man talking to a member of the crew and said to “OMG!!!   GORDON ELLIOTT?” in a loud and exciting voice!

Standing about 6’5″, handsome with blond hair with hints of grey, he replied “OMG! Yes it’s me and do I know you?”, mimicking my voice!   I said “OMG, I remember you going to work and waking people up in the morning when you were at “Good Day New York!  In the morning you used to stop by and get a cup of coffee at the same place as I did, our work schedules were kind of the same!!”   We laughed and he gave me the puzzled look – that he didn’t remember me.  But then he reassured me that he did!

So the show is produced by Gordon Elliotts Chew Productions for the ABC Television Network.   So here is some background information about Gordon Elliot!

Gordon Elliott (born 30 September 1956) is a British-born Australian journalist and producer. He is the executive producer of ABC’s daytime program The Chew, but is probably better known for his 1990s TV talk show program, The Gordon Elliott Show.

Born in Everton, Liverpool, England, in the United Kingdom but grew up in Lewisham, Australia. Gordon was educated at Christian Brothers’ High School, Lewisham and attended the University of Sydney for a law degree. While studying as a Sydney student, Elliott worked part time on a radio show and ended up on Good Morning Australia (breakfast TV).

After several jobs hosting morning news programs and landing work as the feature reporter on the Fox Television show A Current Affair (produced by New York’s WNYW) in 1987, Elliott appeared as the house-entering feature reporter on WNYW’s morning news program Good Day New York.

In the 1990s you may have seen him hosting game and talk shows, including The Gordon Elliott Show from 1994–1997. In 1990, Elliott also hosted To Tell the Truth for two months before being replaced by Lynn Swann. In 2000, he hosted It’s Your Chance of a Lifetime.

Viewers were awaiting what show would be placed in the time slot, where All My Children was the staple.  When announced, it was the most anticipated daytime show ever!   The show’s co-hosts are worldly known and if you are a foodie, then there’s a touch fun and great learning ahead!  So here comes “The Chew“!

The co-hosts are:

Carla Hall, best known as a competitor on Bravo’s Top Chef, where she won over audiences with her fun catch phrase “Hootie Hoo” and philosophy to always cook with LOVE!!!

Mario Batali, Mario Batali and his business partner Joe Bastianich own 17 restaurants across the country, including their flagship New York City restaurant Babbo, as well as two restaurants in Los Angeles and three in Las Vegas. In the summer of 2010, they opened Eataly, the largest Italian artisanal food marketplace in the world.

However, my favourite of his restaurants, is the Tarry Lodge Pizzeria in Westport, CT!  Having a divine glass of red wine and thee Guanciale, Black Truffles and Sunny Side Egg pizza! HEAVAAAAAN!  I’ll do a post on this later!

Michael Symon, funny and lovable is best known as a star of the popular Food Network series Iron Chef America, where he cooks with soul, creating boldly flavored dishes. His other television credits include serving as host of Food Feuds and Cook Like an Iron Chef, as well as a featured judge on season three of The Next Iron Chef.

Daphne Oz, passionate about health and wellness, is The Chew’s fresh face of healthy living, and resident practical tipster, sharing her personal insights, interests and helpful information.

Clinton Kelly, wonderfully known as the style host of TLC’s popular series What Not to Wear!  He has also appeared in several specials for TLC, including: The Miss America Pageant; Fashioning a Home with Clinton Kelly; Mind Your Manners and Redo My Spouse.

The show’s topic was spicy food and incorporating it in your daily life!  When you think of spice on your food, what do you think?  The Chew co-hosts thought of Tabasco sauce!    Lot’s of Tabasco sauce as a gift to the audience members, all the sauces that Tabasco makes!  SPICY time!

I had a wonderful time and as you may already know, it is quite a show!  I’d enjoyed the day, reconnecting with an old friend named Gordon Elliott, learning how to SPICE up my LIFE in my food and spending time with my friends!  Tickets can be requested through the website to attend or watch it, I am pretty sure you will have a great time!

Letia

http://www.abc.com/thechew  http://twitter.com/thechew  Photos courtesy of ABC “The Chew” and Letia Mitchell LifeStyle & Design.

2 Responses to “My Day at ABC’s The Chew and Gordon Elliott!!!!!”

  1. http://www.lit-parapluie.net/ February 5, 2013 at 4:34 PM #

    Hi my loved one! I want to say that this post is amazing,
    nice written and include almost all important infos.
    I would like to peer more posts like this .

    • magus120 November 1, 2016 at 12:42 AM #

      great artical, I just finished writing a book to help the 98% get empowerment want to present it on the chew. I have an idea of having all the chew stars at the same time being caught up in an illusion bringing all into the Magic and all of them participating at the same time. I know it will be perfect for the chew and a long remembered experience for all the members and their fans. Next time you see Gordon at the coffee shop tell him Mandrini the magician said hi! Really enjoyed your article. It totally engrossed me and kept my attention. My book is entitled the Magic of Reading Signed copy of Magic of Reading clicks these words.

Leave a Reply

