I Wasn’t Invited to the Wedding!!

21 Aug

 

Have you ever thought you would be invited to a wedding and wasn’t?   I am confident enough to know when I receive an invitation in the mail, that I have been extended an invitation! 

However, there are instances when you don’t receive an invitation, YOU think it is understood you are coming!  Right?   Well, this is not necessarily true!  Do we assume we are invited or mistakenly show up or get upset that no one has finally said “Hey you’re coming right?”

Debbie C. from Utah, CO sent me an e-mail, with this same dilemma, where she is very upset….

‘….each time I see her, she always picks my line and we talk;   I always ask how things are going.  I have given her places to go and even recommended a friend of mine to get some quotes.  I would think, when she comes to the store, she would have an invite, NOTHING……”‘

What do you think, how would you take it?  Is she right to expect to be invited? The reception? Better yet; have you ever thought you were invited to a wedding, party, etc. and come to find out you weren’t?  Upset? Or, you just understood?  Let me know your comments or any other advice to Debbie. 

Letia 🙂

4 Responses to “I Wasn’t Invited to the Wedding!!”

  1. Jenny October 24, 2011 at 12:49 AM #

    It is horrible ettiquette to assume you are invited without actually receiving an invitation and RSVP-ing. (I also believe it is in poor form to bring a guest if the invitation did not specify that you are welcome to bring a guest).
    Weddings are expensive events and often have space constraints, and it is hard enough for the Bride and Groom to make the guest list without playing the “if I invite him, I’m going to have to invite her…” game.
    Don’t assume because you told the bride where your cousin got her wedding dress, or that your friend is a photographer that you have “earned” the right to attend.
    If you are a good friend, you will recognize their limitations, and accept the non-invite with grace.
    You can always mail a wedding card to the couple for a little passive-agressive guilt trip.

  2. Andrew Pelt August 29, 2011 at 4:12 AM #

    Its excellent as your other blog posts :D, appreciate it for putting up.

  3. Leslie August 21, 2011 at 11:01 PM #

    You are absolutely right this happene to my wife and I! She should not expect an invite.

Leave a Reply

