Garden Conservancy – Open Day Program in Westchester County, Chappaqua – Seeds of Design!

10 May

GardenConservancylogo

Garden design is the creation of plans for the layout and planting of gardens and landscapes. Gardens may be designed by garden owners themselves, or by professionals.  So one who loves the joy of gardening, would be so excited when the Garden Conservancy had announced Westchester County NY Open Day for private gardens!

One of the private gardens that are being showcased is by my dear friends, Shoba Vanchiswar and Murali Mani!  Although they are very modest, has won the 2007 Golden Trowel award from Garden Design magazine and not to mention, “The Best of” in Westchester Home Magazine!  These two were so delighted when I told them that I would be attending opening day and I was as well.  I love flowers and was looking forward to seeing their pride and joy!

Driving down the road of their home, parked cars were lined up…this is a very big deal!  I was afraid that there would be nowhere to park!  So when I saw a space; I said to myself out loud happily a “Yes”!  Walking towards the home, there were two ladies who greeted me and provided me with reading material on the Garden Conservancy and a handout giving a summary of the garden highlights I was about to see!

So as I am talking, I suddenly hear Shobha’s delightful voice “Letia, you’re here!”  After a great big hug and kiss, Shobha informs me that her job is to greet the visitors and her husband; Murali is in the rear of the home answering questions and offering help where needed!

So off I went on the tour.  In knowing that the garden was just beginning to bloom; I was surprised the variety of colors so far present!  It was very pleasing!  Walking on the side of the home; it was important for me to take my time – I was afraid that I would miss something.  You definitely could see the detail;  it was very thoughtful and it is expressed quite lovely all the features that a garden should have.   Jade succulents, a damask “Leda” tree,  a fig tree and a tree peony waiting to bloom!  Potted herbs of citrus and rosemary.

Then greeted by a wonderful lionhead fountain and a hidden secret of a wood burning brick oven – with a nice sun ray design.  Then you notice the checkerboard garden of beautiful phlox plants!  Even a beautiful Belgian espalier of apples and pears.  Upon turning, you are taken in by the all the little details that add to the garden’s charm; like the stack of books with Shobha’s name, glass bells aligned catching the sun or the airplane swing made of wood!

Upon looking back, there is a meadow of flowers and a greenhouse.  Then suddenly; you notice a tree house!  Instantly saying to myself, this garden has had a lot of good times and love!

There was a very cool breeze, as I walked through the meadow – I turned back to look at the home and a noticed there were many visitors.  Proving this three year old garden s the talk of Chappaqua indeed!  Shobha and Murali even provided classical music to play in the background!  Not the radio or a CD, but classical violinists who were all so escatic to climb the tree house and play music throughout the day of the opening!

The garden was open from 10 am – 4 pm; where I found myself staying to the end!  The day ended with Shobha and Murali’s beautiful moment…… both dancing lovingly in the meadow.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Letia Mitchell LifeStyle & Design Letia 🙂

Seeds of Design LLC provides innovative garden designs and strategies to clients, so they can become their own gardeners.  continuously work with clients and plan for the long-term, because gardens must continue to evolve. 

Do what’s good for the environment, promote stewardship of land for succeeding generations. Combine form, function, beauty, color and fragrance in ways that personally suit the clientFor more information email, seedsofdesign@verizon.net  Also the website and Facebook page is available to see what’s happening in their gardening world ( Seeds of Design LLC or Facebook page).

The Garden Conservancy saves and shares outstanding American gardens for the education and inspiration of the public.  To learn more about our opportunities and programs; please go to http://www.gardenconservancy.org .

All photos by Letia Mitchell LifeStyle & Design LLC®

Leave a Reply

