Dinner or Supper, What a Debate!

26 Oct

question markThere is so much going on in the world, who would have ever thought that a mere dinner date with six friends would turn into a 30 minute debate; without a moderator!

Before we even ordered!! So annoying that the topics that we would usually talk about did not ever get talked about because of a mere formality of a word. It all started by us sitting down at one of our favorite restaurants, Saju Bistro – here in NYC; right on 44th in the theatre district!

Everyone arrived on time and one person said “I am starving, I am so ready for supper!   The other person said “Supper?”, who in the hell says that, you mean dinner?” With the reply, “I never say dinner, you’re wrong – it’s supper”.

We went on to order appetizers and few cocktails!  But oh no, it could n’t be left alone. Upon ordering our entrees it started again, this supper dinner thing!  It got to the point where I said, “Who gives a flying mosquito”! For I couldn’t think of anything better to say, there were little ones at the next table!

The most important thing to me, was that there was food; that I who wanted to eat…because I like the food and I could eat! Simple?  So, I thought! Until the cell phones were pulled out like swords and the searches began; this really matter to everyone???  CRAZY!!

Everyone was now curious on what is the difference.  Now, I’ll be the first to admit I have used both in the past; however DINNER for me is the runner-up.

Dinner refers to the most significant meal of the day, which can be the noon or the evening meal. However, the term “dinner” can have many different meanings depending on the culture; it may mean a meal of any size eaten at any time of day.
Supper refers to the lite evening meal, often the principal meal of the day.  Or it can be an evening social event at which a supper is served to raise money for a church, charity, etc.

The more they read, it still didn’t resolve anything!   Until the words, ENOUGH was said by the quiet one in the group with a loud voice.  Thank goodness, cause we would have been still talking about it!

The disagreeing parties surrendered and then the topic was turned to the World Series!

I was ecstatic and the mood finally changed! You might be saying, who cares!!!!!!  I couldn’t agree with you more!

But I bet you, when you hear the word dinner now, you’ll notice!  I am so glad we did not talk about the word AUNT!  Gheez!

By the way, I’m heading home and just a few moments ago, I’d received a text from my friend – it said  “you know it’s DINNER! ;)”  Friends, you got to love them!

Related Articles

Letia Mitchell LifeStyle & DesignLetia 😉

http://www.sajubistro.com

Leave a Reply

