Not Just Any Waffle – Julian’s Recipe Vanilla Bean Belgian Waffles!

8 Jul

You know how I am a certified foodie!  Well, I had the utmost pleasure of having Waffles!

Now you may see this brand in your supermarket’s freezer section, Julian’s Recipe™ Vanilla Belgian Waffle!  If you have’nt, TRY IT!

Using a family recipe, founded by Alexander Dzieduszycki, Creator of Alexia® Food and Terra® Chips, the brand is named after his son, Julian.

For a year, my nearby Costco Warehouse® would have this speciality package of 12 of the most divine waffles!  The recipe definitely did not skip on the ingredients, for you can definitely taste the vanilla bean, sugar; a buttery authentic tasting Belgian waffle!

Well, Costco stopped selling the speciality package and I have written the company on whether they are going to continue their promotion with the warehouse or do I have to suffer with only the 4 per box available in the supermarket!   Let me explain, I’m not eating these waffles for breakfast, I’m making my own personal dessert!!  This is what I would do, this is my recipe!

Julian's Recipe Waffles

Take the waffle and place in the toaster for about a minute and a half; to caramelize the sugar – making the waffle warm too!  Then place the waffle in a bowl, then top with – not one, but TWO scoops of vanilla bean ice cream; followed by three to four drizzles (maybe five) of Amaretto liqueur and then top it off with one sliced strawberry!!!!   YESSSSSS!  Talk about HAPPY!  Now, this is NOT an everyday treat, but one of the most comforting and pleasurable treat that you can prepare for your guests or just for YOU!

The waffles are freezable, regrettably where I am down to only six left in my freezer!  So, I decided why not share in the experience and for those who have had them, well there’s no need to comment, for I know you are happy too!

However, if anyone likes their waffles made from scratch, please share your recipe – for there are people who still love to make breakfast in the morning and would not mind at all to give it a try!  As for me, it would be a unrewarding ; perhaps uneventful task to do – so I will stick to the current method I’d mentioned!  🙂

For those who like fast and easy (me), look for them at your supermarket.  I will let you know, if the company responds to my inquiry!  In the meantime, I have attached their link for more information, recipes and where their products are being sold.  If you are a Facebook subscriber, they also have a Facebook page! http://juliansrecipe.com/

For you history buffs;  the Belgian waffles originally showcased in 1958 at Expo 58.  They had their American debut at the Century 21 Exposition in Seattle, WA in 1962. The waffles were further popularized in the United States during the 1964 New York World’s Fair at Flushing Meadows Park (Queens, NYC). The waffle was introduced by Maurice Vermersch of Brussels, Belgium.

At that time, it was named the Bel-Gem Waffle, on a simplified recipe for the Brussels waffles, Vermersch decided to change the name upon observing the poor geographical skills of Americans. The waffles were served with whipped cream and strawberries, and retailed for only a dollar.  Today, toppings vary from whipped cream, confectioners sugar, soft fruit, chocolate spread, to syrup!

Well enough already!!!  Just go try them!  🙂

Related articles

Letia 🙂

Leave a Reply

