Dr. Oz Suggests Walnut Oil to Fight the Belly!

3 Sep

Hope everyone is not running around trying to find walnut oil, after Dr. Oz‘s program earlier this week.  Well, I guess everyone is!

Dr. Oz had suggested to help eliminate belly fat, walnut oil could help with great health benefits.  Walnut oil is available and has always been around, plus the Doc is absolutely right, the benefits are astronomical!

Doctors have said for years to have nuts daily.  A handful of walnuts daily is beneficial, just for the antioxidants and it’s a great way to lower  cholesterol; with a healthy diet.

So, before everyone goes crazy, trying to find it and think it’s going to be pricey….here’s my recommendation; since I am very familiar with the product brand.   Look in your local grocery store for La Tourangelle’s Roasted Walnut oil.   It’s pure walnut oil and runs about $9.00.  The trick, in order to get the health benefits, the walnut oil cannot be heated!!!!!!  The oil also must be refrigerated after opening! Very important!! Keep COLD!

La Tourangelle is known for hand-crafting a range of delicious artisan oils in both California and France.  They distribute an exclusive line of premium quality oils in many countries around the world.

The oils I have used are: almond, pecan, pumpkin seed oils and Pan Asian stir fry!!  I love roasted butternut squash soup and I highly recommend the pecan oil for an added delight!  Now, I am no way considered a chef, but I do love-making my soups!  The other is grape seed oil for my skin, I use it as a moisturizer (a dab).

OK, I digressed!  How do you use the walnut oil.  Well, you can either make a great salad dressing, I put a simple recipe below or you can do like the golden days, take a teaspoon!  You remember the cod liver oil days!!! LOL  The walnut oil is not that bad tasting <to me!> or you can continue to have your walnuts, eat them right out of the shell; either way you have to be consistent to reap the benefits.  Now you know, remember this has to be done with exercise and a healthy diet <for those who may use that mind game, I’ll just do this and…..>🙂

Remember the health benefits, La Tourangelle’s Roasted Walnut oil is a wonderful source of omega 3 (1.4g per 1 Tbs.).  Omega 3 oil helps to prevent cardiovascular disease while acting as a counterweight to bad cholesterol.

On their website, it sells for about $6.00, which is less.  I would check the website to see if there are any other oils you may be interested in, to get a savings of free shipping and handling for an order over $25.00.  If not, I would check my local grocery first or have them order!

For more information on La Tourangelle products, log on to www.latourangelle.com.

Dressing:

  • 1 part balsamic vinegar
  • 2 parts walnut oil
  • salt & pepper
  • bit of Dijon mustard (1/2 tsp. or so)

Mix vinegar and oil together, then add mustard.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Drizzle on salad; any remaining dressing store in the refrigerator.

P.s. Raspberry vinegar is great too!

I hope this information is useful, for I too also am looking for healthy ways to improve!  🙂

Letia 🙂

Photos by La Tourangelle Artisan Oils

10 Responses to “Dr. Oz Suggests Walnut Oil to Fight the Belly!”

  1. Esther Kirsten July 17, 2015 at 6:24 AM #

    I want to drink the oil and note that you suggest 1 tsp – is this the daily dose and is it enough

  2. Erica June 19, 2015 at 11:06 PM #

    Just bought some today, glad I found this so I know to put it in the fridge and not cook with it. Assuming it’s okay for cooking, just missing out on the benefits right? I’m going to try the dressing!

    • Letia Mitchell LifeStyle & Design® June 20, 2015 at 4:17 PM #

      I am glad the information was helpful! Some recipes do call for walnut oil; but its rarely used for cooking with heat! The walnut is good source of antioxidants and great on the budget. Whole walnuts, chopped walnuts are so expensive! Good Luck! 🙂

  3. Johanna February 26, 2015 at 12:59 AM #

    Thank you for this post! I love what the walnut oil has done for me and I’m so glad you’re helping to get the word out! And also I’m so thankful you mentioned grapeseed oil. I’ve been using it for over a year on my skin and it’s made an amazing difference. I put my usual moisturizer over it every day and night. Love your post!

  4. Mary Strong July 18, 2013 at 6:32 PM #

    thanks letia.. i just bought me a bottle full…heres to walnut oil..

  5. Lacy Mosburg December 9, 2011 at 6:01 PM #

    Can I simply say what a relief to find someone who truly knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You positively know how to convey a problem to mild and make it important. Extra folks must read this and understand this facet of the story. I cant believe youre not more in style since you definitely have the gift.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Banana Oatmeal Bread! Easy | Letia Mitchell LifeStyle & Design® - January 18, 2016

    […] walnuts, I like the walnut taste…..not necessarily the walnuts in the bread.  So I used walnut oil (1/2 teaspoon)!  If you don’t like walnuts; you can try raisins, pumpkin seeds, […]

Leave a Reply

