Sconce, Scone – It’s Not the Same Thing!

23 Nov

I’m listening to two of the sweetest elderly ladies here in the doctor’s waiting room this afternoon, I am completely in stitches. For about 20 minutes they went on about the Royal Wedding which is to happen next year.

“I wonder whether they are going to have sconces with their tea?  Sconces are so very good; if you make them right! I have a recipe.” I’d dared not correct them, I’m minding my manners!

A sconce is a type of light fixture affixed to a wall in such a way that it uses only the wall for support, and the light is usually directed upwards. It does not have a base on the ground.

A scone is a small British quick bread (or cake if recipe includes sugar) of In Scottish language the verb scon means to crush flat.

Just had to tell you this one!  The letter ‘c’ is not needed <giggle>.

Letia 🙂

2 Responses to “Sconce, Scone – It’s Not the Same Thing!”

  1. hair replacement February 10, 2011 at 9:52 PM #

    I usually do not write comments on blogs, But your story forced me to commend your writings. Thanks for writing this, I will absolutely liked your web site and will come back once in awhile. Happy blogging..white iphonefreebiejeebies hair loss women gadgetshow

  2. Facebook Fans December 10, 2010 at 3:11 AM #

    Thanks very much for this great Post. Nice topic to talk about on my Blog. I might set a bookmark to your page.

Leave a Reply

