Unexpected Nice Visit!

18 Oct

Here’s a guess what happened to me post!  While home this evening, I’d received a call from a very dear friend and after talking about 5 minutes, said “I’m surprised you are home, I was taking a chance – but I am about 30 minutes away, do you mind if I stop by?”.  

I quickly said, “Come On” and as I’m speaking I’d remembered, I have nothing here to really eat; most of the food is frozen!    So after hanging up the phone, I ran downstairs to the kitchen; yelling 30 MINUTES, 30 MINUTES and began opening/closing cabinets like some wild woman, opening drawers in the fridge and then slid to my wine rack!  So here’s what I pulled out:

  • 1 wedge of blue cheese
  • 1 wedge of smoked gouda cheese
  • 1 wedge of jalapeno cheese
  • 1 wedge of cheddar cheese
  • red seedless grapes
  • chocolate covered almonds
  • wasabi almonds
  • rice crackers
  • water crackers
  • cranberry sauce (whole berries),
  • oranges
  • honey 
  • some sliced ginger candies 

<Before you say it, yes I love cheese..the wedges are vacuumed packed; so they will keep longer>.

I pulled out this nice white serving tray.  After giving it a good wash, rinse and dry, I arranged the items.  Taking my cheese knives dented them in each cheese and used these small dipping bowls I got from Chinatown a few years back while in NYC to hold the cranberry sauce and honey.  Everything else was placed, no particular way – but nice.  

I have this basil plant in my kitchen window and  did a snip, snip, placing them also on the the 4 corners of the tray <Martha Stewart, watch out!> .  During the holiday season, I often receive bottles of wines and spirits, so it was great somebody gave me a bottle of Zinfandel which would go perfect!  I had a red wine too!

I say all this to say, you know how you pick up items at the grocery and just keep in your fridge or pantry; well it’s a good thing, because it can save you!  It saved me!   So, for those unexpected nice visits, go shopping in your kitchen first before running out to the grocery!  And for your own private party with thyself, do the same thing for those late evening munchies!

Well, this left about 5 minutes to put on some music with the shuffle option on <Yeah for Ipods!> and set the wine glasses!  As I did a quick “you better be good” to my dog, the door bell rang!  I was  so excited and relieved that I didn’t even have to leave the house!   I played it off completely, my friend loved the spread.  With me saying, oh it was just a little something I’d put together <ssshh>! 

Be well – Lee 🙂

P.S. don’t forget to check  the expiration dates!

Leave a Reply

