Reinvent Yourself!

20 Aug

When the September issues of fashion magazines — typically their biggest of the year, ad-wise — hit newsstands this month, the three most prestigious ones will feature actresses in their 40s on the cover. 

I am always looking for encouragement; whether it’s from family or friends.  But also by the material I read and my surroundings.  

MORE® magazine has always been featuring fabulous women over 40; some celebrities and some not!  It’s nothing new to them!!   This magazine always has given me the encouragement and with that, I try to also give encouragement and share information. 

The editor’s letter to the magazine’s readers is a great one!   So many of us, may be guilty of skipping over the editor’s page; I find it very important.   Lesley Jane Seymour, the Editor-in-Chief ‘s topic is ‘Can Friendship LAST FOREVER?’   It tells of how we cherish our friendships and what a friendship really means.   Why do some last and others don’t? Without given away too much…..a great friend will always be around! 

September’s issue continues to give examples and would like to share with the woman who have been introduced to my blog site (Thank You), this issue is for you!  There is an article called /second acts/ where Barbara Corcoran, real estate guru, whom sold her real estate firm the Corcoran Group and is now a television personality – you’ve might have seen her on ABC‘s Shark Tank.  She gives some insight on how her second act involved reinventing herself as a woman and staying true to herself.  Very inspiring! 

Barbara Corcoran

Then there is also another great article where two beautiful sisters decided to take what they needed in their own hands, which involved also reinventing themselves, by taking their beauty needs and making it into a brand called Miss Jessie’s Original. It’s now sold nationwide in Target® today http://missjessies.com/01_shop/shop.htm. They definitely show, when great minds get together and it’s your sister! 

Miko and Titi Branch – Miss Jessie’s®

Pick up More® ; it’s likely to have you reviewing each and every page, for it has something for everyone!   There are also many beauty tips, finance tips, body and mind thinking topics, a multitude of ideas on the fashion trends being set this fall; they all can be found in this issue.   Check out www.more.com too!  

I can say being in my 40’s feels absolutely great, I am much wiser, brighter and overall happy!  I believe in no longer making excuses with the “I wish I”, I now say “Why not, let’s do it”!  It’s never too late to seek within and recharge your thoughts and yourself!!   

Be well, Letia 🙂 

P.S…..Oh!  I forgot to say, for those interested… More® is having a October Reinvention Convention in NYC, check their website for more (no pun intended) information. 

Photos by More For Women of Style & Substance Magazine  and ABC’s Sharks. 

One Response to “Reinvent Yourself!”

  1. lmlifestyledesign August 24, 2010 at 4:54 PM #

    Ladies, I have received your e-mails, I have contacted Talbots Customer Service on the leopard sheath dress shown in the magazine depicting items for this Fall! I am awaiting a response. The dress is currently not found on-line or in stores yet. I will keep you posted!!!!!!. 🙂 Letia

Leave a Reply

