Ladies, To Keep Or Not To Keep?

24 Jun

Ladies, this evening,  I received a question from one of my readers today, Dana out of Harlan, IA.  She started off by saying,  “Miss Mitchell..I know you blog about decorating and a few other topics, but you’re very fashionista and I have a little question…..!” 

 Dana wanted to know whether the hang straps inside her formal gown she was wearing could be cut, she’s tried it on and they were noticable.  This made me think,  I’d never thought about cutting the hang straps from my blouses, skirts or dresses! LOL  Hmmm, should I be? 

I have always tucked or taped the hang straps, so they would not show when wearing; especially if it’s strapless.  I would keep the hang straps in tack to hang back the garment, thinking it assisted in preserving the shape while it’s hanged in the closet or secure when I’m travelling!   It wouldn’t be placed in the garment; if they weren’t important! Right? 

(Just imagine me asking this to Michael Kors or Christian Siriano, Mr. Fierce himself,  do we really need these things? LOL  Oh.. by the way, Christian’s  sister is getting married this week, he designed 3 dresses for her wedding…just wanted you to know!  I’ll post if he publishes them!!)

OK, this is such a great question, so I said let me put up a poll on this topic and see what other people would do with these infamous hang straps!  I’m curious! 

See, you had no idea, that this would be a topic of discussion! Neither did I, thanks Dana! (giggle

Oh! Yes, I did e-mail Dana back, saying to not to cut them from her strapless dress – tape them down, so she would feel comfortable;  also with a thank you for the compliment and her readership!  Why? She did say it was a formal gown and to keep its form, the hang straps will help keep its shape.

 Image by © Condé Nast Archive/CORBIS  1936

Be well – Letia 🙂

2 Responses to “Ladies, To Keep Or Not To Keep?”

  1. Dane Dematteis November 27, 2011 at 2:03 AM #

    Excellent post but I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Appreciate it!

  2. Blackjack February 10, 2011 at 11:27 PM #

    Can I just say what a aid to seek out someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You positively know easy methods to carry an issue to mild and make it important. More people must read this and perceive this aspect of the story. I cant believe youre no more well-liked since you undoubtedly have the gift.

Leave a Reply

