First Lady, Mrs. Obama Inspiration for Decorating

14 May
Jason Wu, designer

First Lady, Mrs. Obama

I don’t know about you, but I  always watch to see what outfit our First Lady, Mrs. Obama is wearing, through http://mrs-o.org/ .  She always looks simply fabulous!!   Looking through the many entries, she looks so lovely in this Jason Wu sheath dress with tight pleating in a magenta color (USA Weekend).  So…I started thinking, it’s such a beautiful color, how would it look in a bedroom ensemble?   Some people may think, reds and magenta may be too dark for a bedroom and others can’t picture how it would actually look.  

In earlier posts, remember I showed you how to find out your personal style and how fashion influences our furniture and the materials in our home; it gives us inspiration.  Here are some other examples.  Don’t be afraid of color or trying something new!   Mrs. Obama’s dress gives the same thing, INSPIRATION.  So I started looking through some design catalogs; with my glass of Pinot Grigio! 

Here I found shades of purple, aubergine, magenta and wine.  See how it has little speckles of Mrs. Obama’s dress!  Now there’s velvet cording, the bedspread is polyester to represent the silk look, the pillows have ruffles with no set rule and a frilly throw.  You will often find you cannot achieve the look you may want with just one ensemble.  You can always buy two bed in a bag ensembles and combine them to get that mixed look.  www.overstock.com is my favorite for finding close-outs. 

While Marshalls® is a great way to buy pillows at a reasonable price; getting the look of high-end, even though your secret is you’ve spent much less!

Nakita Bed Linens by Isabella Collection

Let’s see something else, why not try putting some pop at the dinner table?  Instead of using the normal white napkins, try using some napkins with color; like a purplish lavender napkin!  Hmmmm! Great idea!  You can use your every day dinnerware and add the napkin with color, it will make your dishes seem like new.   So you know, you should be using your china or your favorite dishes more often.  In my opinion, saving things for “special” occasions is not really enjoying what you have.  So start using them!  BUT!  If you need new dinnerware, the set displayed is beautiful; but I’ve found a similar look, for what?  LESS!http://www.overstock.com/Home-Garden/Mikasa-Anissa-Basic-16-piece-Dinnerware-Set/4290905/product.html

Intarsia Dinnerware

Before I go,  I want everyone to know that I’m finally getting through all your e-mails!  I want to give a big THANK YOU for all the support, your opinions, your topic requests and the QUESTIONS!  WOW!  I will start posting the questions and answers on Facebook and in my posts, for some of you have the same interests (keep them coming).   And, I would like to add, my post “Is it Just Clutter?” is the #1 read (highest stats out of all the posts). So, it has definitely helped a lot of people; which is a such a good and wonderful thing!   Thank you again! 🙂 

Be well – Letia

lee@lmlifestyleanddesign.com

2 Responses to “First Lady, Mrs. Obama Inspiration for Decorating”

  1. Arlington locksmith February 11, 2011 at 3:56 PM #

    I’m not sure where you are getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for excellent info I was looking for this info for my mission.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. First Lady, Mrs. Obama Inspiration for Decorating « Letia Mitchell … | All In A Bag - May 15, 2010

    […] a great way to buy pillows at a reasonable price; getting the look of … … View post: First Lady, Mrs. Obama Inspiration for Decorating « Letia Mitchell … ← How to Choose the Best Golf Travel Bag « Nell […]

Leave a Reply

